University of Macau (UM)

China, Macao Special Administrative Region

he University of Macau (UM) was founded in 1981. Its predecessor was the private University of East Asia. Through 34 years of development, UM has become a leading university in Macao, with marked progress in teaching, research, and community service. The only public comprehensive university in Macao, UM has produced more than 26,000 outstanding graduates for society since its founding.

The UM community currently consists of more than 9,400 students. It offers more than 130 bachelor’s, master's, PhD and other programmes, through its Faculty of Arts and Humanities, Faculty of Business Administration, Faculty of Education, Faculty of Health Sciences, Faculty of Law, Faculty of Social Sciences, Faculty of Science and Technology, Institute of Chinese Medical Sciences, and Honours College. English is the main medium of instruction, with some programmes being taught in Chinese, Portuguese or Japanese.

In recent years UM is vigorously reforming its undergraduate curriculum, in order to provide a multifaceted learning experience for students. Measures taken towards this end include: (1) implementing a new ‘4-in-1’ model of education that consists of discipline-specific education, general education, research and internship education, and community and peer education, to meet the students' different needs in different stages; (2) establishing Asia’s largest residential college system modelled upon the successful experience of top universities, to complement the faculty-based system, in order to provide students with experiential learning to support their journey of self-discovery; (3) establishing Macao's first Honours College to concentrate resources to produce future leaders for society; (4) launching new general education courses to help students become well-rounded people with a cross-disciplinary perspective and international competitiveness; (5) implementing a research and internship programme to create opportunities for undergraduates to participate in high-level scientific research projects; and (6) enhancing career counselling to give students a head start in career planning.

UM adopts a governance and management system in line with international standards and practices. It internationally recruits outstanding scholars to create a multilingual and multicultural learning environment for students. UM has a faculty team comprised of more than 560 people, and many of them hold a PhD degree awarded by renowned universities. In recent years UM has stepped up efforts in recruiting senior-level faculty members in an attempt to continuously enhance its teaching and research. So far it has obtained more than 20 chair professors and distinguished professors, all of whom are leaders in their respective areas of expertise. UM also implements a sabbatical leave and reward system to reward faculty members with outstanding performance.

UM vigorously supports scientific research. In recent years it has developed a blueprint for transforming into a research-focused university, which, combined with a clear, shared goal among faculty members to attain first-class achievements, has led to some very good academic results. According to the ISI Web of Science database, in 2014 UM published 776 top-level publications, including books, refereed journals and conference proceedings, 3.8 times the number in 2008. At the 61st International Solid-State Circuits Conference of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), which is considered the ‘Chip Olympics’, UM was ranked among the top ten universities that had presented the most papers at the conference. In some areas, such as Traditional Chinese Medicine, and the Internet of Things, UM already ranks among the top in the Greater China region in terms of papers published at major international conferences and in prestigious journals. With the support of the Macao SAR government and the Science and Technology Development Fund of the Macao SAR, UM in November 2010 received approval from the central government for establishing two state key laboratories, namely the State Key Laboratory of Analog and Mixed-Signal VLSI and the State Key Laboratory for Quality Research in Chinese Medicine. The approval for the two state key labs shows recognition of the university's outstanding achievements in the fields of integrated circuits and Traditional Chinese Medicine.

More and more UM scholars have gained recognition at national and international levels, earning prestigious titles such as fellow of the IEEE, corresponding member of the Portuguese Academy of Sciences, fellow of the ASM International, fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, fellow of the American Physical Society, fellow of the American Society of Civil Engineers, fellow of the American Educational Research Association, president of the IEEE’s Systems, Man, and Cybernetics Society, and fellow of the Hong Kong Academy of Engineering Sciences. The microelectronics research team received the Prize for Scientific and Technological Innovation 2010 from the Ho Leung Ho Lee Foundation, and the second-class State Scientific and Technological Progress Award.

UM constantly explores new research realms to meet the needs of Macao and China. Rector Wei Zhao, a world-renowned expert in computer and information sciences, was appointed as the chief scientist for a project under the national 973 Programme. A paper co-authored by Rector Wei Zhao, his research team and another professor from East China Normal University, has been ranked among China’s 100 Most Influential International Papers 2012. Additionally, UM has launched Macaology, which it hopes to develop into an important, internationally recognised academic field to help enhance public understanding of the culture and society of Macao.

UM has a tradition of conferring honorary professorships and doctorates upon distinguished individuals. Recipients of UM’s honorary titles include George W Bush, former president of the United States; Prof Shing-Tung Yau, an esteemed mathematician and recipient of the Fields Medal, the world's most prestigious prize in mathematics; Nobel laureates Prof Chen-Ning Franklin Yang, Prof James A. Mirrlees, Prof Mo Yan, and Prof Robert C Merton; Master of sinology Prof Jao Tsung-I; founder of the Fo Guang Shan Buddhist Order Master Hsing Yun; and the renowned novelist Jin Yong. Conferring honorary titles upon these distinguished individuals has strengthened the university’s ties with local and international communities and has also enhanced its international visibility.

View this employer's current jobs

Key staff:


Lionel M. NI 
Vice Rector
(Academic Affairs)
Rui Paulo da Silva MARTINS
Vice Rector
Haydn H. D. CHEN
Vice Rector
(Student Affairs)
Mei KOU 
Vice Rector