North-West University

It all starts here ®

South Africa

The North-West University (NWU) was established on 1 January 2004 through the merger of two universities with very different histories, personalities and cultures: the Potchefstroom University for Christian Higher Education and the University of the North-West.

The NWU is a multi-campus university with a footprint across two provinces. The Mafikeng and Potchefstroom Campuses are situated in the North-West Province and the Vaal Triangle Campus is in Gauteng. The head office, known as the Institutional Office, is in Potchefstroom, situated near the Potchefstroom Campus.

Today, the NWU is recognised as one of the best-managed and most innovative universities in South Africa. We continue to celebrate and encourage multiculturalism, multilingualism and multinationalism.

The NWU offers students an exceptionally rich range of study choices at undergraduate and postgraduate level. Our offerings span the spectrum of academic disciplines, from agriculture and the arts through to commerce, engineering, education, health, law, the natural sciences and theology.

Not only do we offer the very best in tertiary education, but we also produce students ready to reshape the world we live in. Through our teaching-learning programmes, our research and innovation projects and our ongoing community engagement, we are not only building a better university, but are also helping to build a better South Africa.

The NWU’s vision and mission is to promote unity in diversity by inculcating tolerance and respect for different perspectives and belief systems in order to ensure a suitable environment for teaching-learning, research and commercialisation.

View this employer's current jobs

Key staff:

Key Staff

Key facts:

Year Founded: 1st January 2004

Number of Students: 64,081

Number of Academic Staff: 6,800

Number of Campuses: 3, which are The Potchefstroom Campus, The Mafikeng Campus and The Vaal Triangle Campus in Vanderbijlpark